In the Mix: DJ T.Cane

On the Arlberg DJ T.Cane is a living legend

Robert Stocker, aka DJ T.Cane, has influenced the Arlberg’s club scene like no other. The 56-year-old has a colleague to thank for his stage name – he called him a teapot (‘Teekanne’ in German). ‘I live in the here and now and as long as I enjoy doing my job I’m going to keep doing it’ the electro DJ tells us; he can look back on a 40-year career in the national and international club scene. 

T.Cane explains what it is that makes his job so much fun: ‘I love it when people have fun and when they spend a great evening with my music’. As a youngster, Robert Stocker did four years at the music school only to exchange his instrument for a set of turntables to start his career in his father’s disco. ‘I also took a peek behind the “band” scene and at some point I realised I was not a frontman, I prefer being in the background – yet present. When I got the opportunity to spin I focused on it with everything I had’, the DJ tells us. 

K.Club
K.Club

In the course of his career, T.Cane saw quite a few highlights. He worked in Amsterdam’s former ‘It’ Club which was famous for being Europe’s biggest disco in the 1980s. ‘My gigs in Spain and at Fête Blanche in Carinthia with about 35,000 guests are spectacular, too‘, the DJ is in clearly in raptures. 

‘Lech-Zürs is my life’

Nadja abd el Farrag and DJ T.Cane
Nadja abd el Farrag and DJ T.Cane

Originally from the Netherlands, T.Cane has a close relationship with the Arlberg. ‘Lech-Zürs is my life. I was four when I first spent time in Lech and I have lots of fond childhood memories of this place.’, he tells us. Today the region still fascinates him: ‘As a young DJ I worked in several clubs in Lech. After a while I was hired at ‘Sidestep’ – today’s K-Club – and I stayed.’ As resident DJ, the still works there regularly and he values the club a lot: ‘Today K-Club has been an entertainment institution in Lech for almost 80 years.’ 

Several years ago DJ T.Cane also started producing music, for famous stars like Nadja ab del Farrag and Strøm, for example. ‘I set up a studio in my apartment in Linz, that’s where I produce most of the time’, T.Cane tells us. He also has his own project coming up: ‘I’m going to bring out my own album that I’m in the process of developing with several guest artists like my friend Stella Jones.’ 

K.Club
K.Club

In the Mix: DJ T.Cane

DJ T.Cane ist eine Legende am Arlberg

Keiner hat die Clubszene am Arlberg so nachhaltig geprägt wie Robert Stocker alias DJ T.Cane. Den Künstlernamen verdankt der heute 56-Jährige einem Kollegen, der ihn scherzhaft Teekanne nannte. „Ich lebe im Hier und Jetzt und solange mich mein Job erfüllt, mache ich genau so weiter“, sagt der Elektro-DJ und blickt dabei auf eine über 40-jährige Karriere in der nationalen und internationalen Clubszene zurück. 

„Ich genieße es, wenn die Leute Spaß haben und einen tollen Abend mit meiner Musik verbringen“, erklärt T.Cane den Reiz seines Berufs. Robert Stocker tauschte als Jugendlicher nach vier Jahren Unterricht an der Musikschule Bregenz das Instrument gegen die Turntables und startete seine Karriere in der Diskothek seines Vaters. „Ich habe auch ,Bandluft‘ geschnuppert, irgendwann jedoch festgestellt, dass ich nicht so der Frontmann bin, sondern mich lieber im Hintergrund halte und doch präsent bin. Als ich die Möglichkeit zum Plattenauflegen bekam, habe ich mich voll darauf konzentriert“, so der DJ.

K.Club
K.Club

Innerhalb seiner Karriere kann T.Cane auf einige Highlights zurückblicken. So legte er im damaligen It in Amsterdam auf, das sich Anfang der 1980er-Jahre als größte Disko Europas einen Namen machte. „Unvergesslich für mich sind auch meine Gigs in Spanien und auf der Fête Blanche in Kärnten mit rund 35.000 Besuchern“, schwärmt der DJ.

„Lech und Zürs sind mein Leben“

Nadja abd el Farrag und DJ T.Cane
Nadja abd el Farrag und DJ T.Cane

Zum Arlberg hat der gebürtige Niederländer eine innige Beziehung. „Lech und Zürs sind mein Leben. Ich war zum ersten Mal im Alter von vier Jahren in Lech und verbinde damit schöne Kindheitserinnerungen“, erklärt er. Auch heute hat ihn die Region nicht losgelassen: „Als junger DJ arbeitete ich in verschiedenen Lecher Clubs. Nach einiger Zeit wurde ich im Sidestep, dem heutigen K.Club engagiert und bin geblieben.“ Als Resident DJ legt er dort auch heute noch regelmäßig auf und schätzt ihn sehr: „Heute ist der K.Club bald 80 Jahre lang eine Institution in Sachen Unterhaltung in Lech.“

Seit ein paar Jahren ist DJ T.Cane auch als Produzent für bekannte Größen wie Nadja abd el Farrag und Strøm tätig. „Ich habe in meiner Wohnung in Linz ein Studio eingerichtet, in dem ich primär produziere“, sagt T.Cane. Ein eigenes Projekt ist auch in Planung, dazu verrät er: „Es wird ein Album von mir selber geben, das ich mit verschiedenen Gastkünstlern wie meiner guten Freundin Stella Jones entwickle.“


Das ganze Interview mit DJ T.Cane finden Sie hier.

K.Club
K.Club