A bit Rock & Roll with the deep love to nature

Interview with Michael Kopplstätter, founder at C.R.A.F.T. Jeans

Style icons like Kate Moss love them, the skinny jeans by C.R.A.F.T. With its casual Rock & Roll attitude the jeans brand from Vorarlberg has made a name for itself all over the world. No matter if it’s New York, London or Dubai – only the best boutiques sell the premium brand’s collections. And customers on the Arlberg can also look forward to browsing through the latest models in a C.R.A.F.T. store in Lech. La Loupe had the opportunity to talk to the label’s boss, Michael Kopplstätter, and ask him questions about the fashion classic. Now we know how to best take care of our favourite pair of jeans and what trends we can look forward to in the coming season. 

L.L. / Since the jeans’ ascent to fashion stardom in the 1950s there was no decade when denim was not in. How come this material is so stylish?

M.K. / Denim and a cool jeans cut are the epitome of a laid back lifestyle. The blue wonder can be styled to look classy, by combining a pair of dark blue jeans with a classic silk blouse and a cashmere jacket – but I can also give it a rebellious touch by wearing distressed denim with a t-shirt and biker leather jacket. The possibilities are endless. Denim can be worn with everything: casual or dressed up. And denim is not ‘about fashion, it’s all about wearing it with confidence’. And that’s what the C.R.A.F.T. customer is like, too. She is confident and knows what she stands for. Our jeans underline her personality. That’s what celebrities like Kate Moss and others value about our brand. 

Michael Kopplstätter
Michael Kopplstätter

L.L. / C.R.A.F.T. stands for Rock & Roll, for skinny and biker jeans and leather jackets. No wonder style icons like Kate Moss love the label. What’s the philosophy behind C.R.A.F.T.?

M.K. / C.R.A.F.T. Jeans stands for craftsmanship, but not only, there’s a secret story behind this. As one of the pioneers of skinny and biker jeans, C.R.A.F.T. is very popular with connoisseurs, style icons, and celebrities with the rock-gene. We are innovative style leader and stand for a modern, effortless, clean, European style with Rock & Roll details. Fit, craftsmanship, and best quality are our basic principles.

We live the 1960s lifestyle, Jane Birkin and Anita Pallenberg are sources of inspiration. Songs by the Rolling Stones and David Bowie are on loop when new designs are developed. C.R.A.F.T. is the jeans experience to rock your soul.

L.L. / C.R.A.F.T. seems very urban. Which makes it all the more surprising that the label’s foundations were laid when you and your colleagues were in a chalet in the mountains. And your two stores are in Lech and Dornbirn. The C.R.A.F.T. Rock & Roll charm and the tranquil, almost picturesque natural backdrop of the Arlberg and Vorarlberg – how does that fit together?

M.K. / We had crazy times in New York, London, Paris, and Los Angeles. My roots in the nature, the mountains and the ocean were always there though, and when I came back to Vorarlberg we were able to put that together in a combination that works. A bit of Rock & Roll with the deep love for nature ...

And, of course, C.R.A.F.T. jeans are available in selected, exclusive shops all over the world. 

L.L. / What styles and brands can customers of the C.R.A.F.T. store in Lech look forward to?

M.K. / Our store in Lech am Arlberg is rather unique in the Alps, it brings an urban lifestyle to the mountains. With its range of exclusive brands, the store offers a mix of European chic and slouchy California style. We are casual cool and present ‘favourite essentials with highest quality, rock chic details and vintage feel.’ C.R.A.F.T.-women travel the world and are inspired by an ‘effortless cool style.’ We have the ultimate favourite piece by every brand, to be perfectly combined with C.R.A.F.T. jeans. Upcoming designer like Anine Binge from Los Angeles and Rag & Bone from New York are also available here. Other brands that are known for offering the best high-quality basics – like beautiful t-shirts by James Perse from Los Angeles or hip cashmere sweaters by 360Cashmere in New York – are on offer, too. We also offer vintage feel by presenting artful, hand-painted vintage bags from the 1960s, e.g. by Hermes.

You are crafty if you like to dress classy with a touch of sexy, vintage and Rock & Roll. 

La Loupe C R A F T  Lech 6
Advertisement

L.L. / How to best take care of a pair of jeans is a mystery. Some swear by the ice-box method vs washing machine, others say it ought to be washed and tumble-dried. Now what is the best way to have a pair of jeans look fresh for as long as possible?

M.K. / Denim with a high proportion of spandex loses its stability and shape after a few rounds in the washing machine. Our denim contains only two percent of stretch material and the fabric is very dense which makes our jeans hold their shape better.

C.R.A.F.T. jeans are like a love affair: the denim doesn’t give in right away – but after a while it’ll adapt to the wearer and fit her perfectly forever. A love affair needs care, though, in order to last forever: 40-degree wash and no tumble dryer are the ideal preconditions for a lasting relationship. 


"You are crafty if you like to dress classy with a touch of sexy, vintage and Rock & Roll." 


La Loupe C R A F T  Lech 1

L.L. / Skinny or flare, torn or classic – what jeans trends can we expect in the coming season?

M.K. / C.R.A.F.T. is one of the pioneers of skinny jeans and celebrities love them. Which is why classic skinny jeans are always important for us. We don’t just blindly follow every trend. Our jeans are essential basics with a little extra that emphasise our own style. The focus of our work is on the fit and the high-quality materials with clever, hidden details.

A skinny silhouette still is a must-have, in high-quality dark blue denim and an authentic vintage wash it’s the perfect basic for every closet. Skinny fits every woman, the combination makes the overall look perfect.

Flare jeans have been a topic of discussion since the last season, but I think they’ll struggle. Flare looks great on tall, thin women. Women with a normal build look shorter in flare jeans. Consequently, it’s not easy to pull off that look…

Personally, I think that in the coming two seasons the classic straight cut jeans will make a come-back. 

L.L. / Aside from your job as a designer you also work in free arts. What is the difference between working in fashion design and painting? Where does the inspiration come from?

M.K. / When I was young and living in New York I kind of slipped from art into design. And for a few years now I have been focussing more on art again. Fashion design has a fixed framework and rules; thus creativity is limited and you quickly hit boundaries you cannot overcome.

Art means absolute freedom. No limits, no rules, no framework – and that’s a huge challenge. Most paintings are the result of coincidence and something unexpected. You wait for inspiration, somehow your hand starts doing something and that then turns into something else. Even when I have a basic idea for a painting it’ll end up going in a different direction. The final work is often very different from the initial idea, it transforms on its own. You never know what the painting will do in the course of its development – it does things you weren’t able to imagine beforehand. The challenge is to decide which part of the accident you take and finalise in a way that feels right for you. The creative process in art is a mixture of instinct, talent, skill, culture, creative fevers, doubt, and coincidence.

This winter I am very much looking forward to being able to exhibit in the tunnel gallery of the wonderful Hotel Burg Vital Resort in Oberlech. 

La Loupe C R A F T  Lech 2
Advertisement

Michael Kopplstätter's Wordrap

My favourite C.R.A.F.T. jeans model: Stargrove.

Denim and . Rock & Roll and everything ... always go together.

Three things to watch out for when buying jeans: 1st proportion and position of the back pockets are the key to a proper wow-effect (back pockets can’t be too small or too big), 2nd no ‘chichi’ but rather attention to detail and washing and 3rd, jeans should be like a love affair.

With or without spandex? Maximum 2 percent, the rest must be cotton.

I own … more than one … pair of jeans.

Fashion to me means: Fashion is more than just a word. What counts is style. It’s that courage to be different, the character and personality that make a person stand out. 

C.R.A.F.T.

In 2005 Michael Kopplstätter and two of his colleagues, Gerhard Leitner and Gideon Day, founded the jeans label C.R.A.F.T. in Dornbirn. The impulse: a night spent drinking in a hut in Bregenz Forest. Today the premium label is popular across the globe, fans identify with the Rock & Roll that makes C.R.A.F.T. so special – among them Kate Moss and the daughters of rock legend Keith Richards. The store in Lech offers its demanding customers not just exclusive jeans but other hip collections by brands like Rag & Bone, 360Cashmere and Free People. 

La Loupe C R A F T  Lech 8

A bit Rock & Roll with the deep love to nature

Interview mit Michael Kopplstätter, Gründer von C.R.A.F.T. Jeans

Stilikonen wie Kate Moss lieben sie, die Skinny Jeans von C.R.A.F.T. Das Vorarlberger Jeans Brand hat sich mit seiner lässigen Rock & Roll-Attitüde mittlerweile auf der ganzen Welt einen Namen gemacht. Egal ob New York, London oder Dubai – nur die besten Boutiquen führen die Kollektionen der Premium-Marke. Und auch Kundinnen am Arlberg dürfen sich über die angesagten Styles im eigenen Store in Lech freuen. La Loupe bekam die Möglichkeit, dem Label-Chef Michael Kopplstätter Fragen zum Modeklassiker zu stellen und weiß jetzt nicht nur wie die Lieblingsjeans am besten gepflegt wird, sondern auch, welche Trends uns kommende Saison erwarten.

L.L. / Seit dem modischen Siegeszug der Jeans in den 1950er Jahren gab es kein Jahrzehnt, in dem Denim nicht angesagt war. Wie erklären Sie sich die Stilsicherheit dieses Materials?

M.K. / Denim und ein cooler Jeansschnitt sind der Inbegriff des Laid-Back-Lifestyles. Das blaue Wunder kann ich mit Klasse stylen, indem ich eine dunkelblaue Jeans mit einer klassischen Seidenbluse und einem Cashmere-Blazer kombiniere – aber ich kann der Jeans auch einen „rebellious Touch“ geben, indem ich einen distressed Denim mit T-Shirt und Biker Lederjacke kombiniere. Die Möglichkeiten sind unendlich. Denim kann mit allem getragen werden: Casual oder Dressed Up. Und Denim ist nicht „about Fashion, it’s all about how you wear them with confidence.“ So ist auch die C.R.A.F.T.-Kundin: Sie ist selbstbewusst und weiß, wofür sie steht. Unsere Jeans unterstreichen ihre Persönlichkeit. Das ist es, was Celebrities wie Kate Moss und andere an unserer Marke schätzen. 

Michael Kopplstätter
Michael Kopplstätter

L.L. / C.R.A.F.T. steht für Rock & Roll, für Skinny- und Bikerjeans und Lederjacken. Kein Wunder, dass Stilikonen wie Kate Moss Fans des Labels sind. Welche Philosophie steht hinter C.R.A.F.T.?

M.K. / C.R.A.F.T. Jeans steht nicht nur für Craftsmanship, dahinter steht auch eine geheime Geschichte. Als einer der Pioniere der Skinny Jeans und der Biker Jeans ist C.R.A.F.T. heute bei Connaisseurs, Style-Icons und Celebrities mit dem Rock-Gen sehr beliebt. Wir sind innovativer Style-Leader und stehen für einen modernen, „effortless“, cleanen europäischen Stil mit Rock & Roll-Details. Passform, Craftsmanship und beste Qualität sind unsere Grundvoraussetzungen.

Wir leben den Lifestyle der 60er Jahre, Jane Birkin und Anita Pallenberg dienen als Inspirationsquellen. Songs von den Rolling Stones und David Bowie sind Pflicht bei der Designentwicklung. C.R.A.F.T. ist die Jeans-Experience to rock your soul.

L.L. / C.R.A.F.T. wirkt sehr urban, umso erstaunlicher ist es, dass Sie den Grundstein des Labels mit Ihrem Kollegen in einem Chalet in den Bergen legten. Auch Ihre beiden Stores sind in Lech und Dornbirn. Der Rock & Roll-Charme von C.R.A.F.T. und die beschauliche, pittoreske Naturkulisse des Arlbergs und Vorarlbergs – wie passt das zusammen?

M.K. / Unsere wilden Jahre haben wir in New York, London, Paris und Los Angeles verbracht. Meine Wurzeln in der Natur und in den Bergen, aber auch meine Faszination für den Ozean habe ich immer in mir gespürt und mit der Rückkehr nach Vorarlberg haben wir das ganz gut kombinieren können. A bit Rock & Roll with the deep love to nature ...

Und natürlich gibt es C.R.A.F.T. Jeans international in ausgewählten, exklusiven Shops. 

L.L. / Auf welche Styles und Marken dürfen sich Besucher des C.R.A.F.T. Stores in Lech freuen?

M.K. / Unser Store in Lech am Arlberg ist wohl einzigartig in den Alpen und bringt den urbanen Lifestyle in die Berge. Der Store zeigt mit exklusiven Brands einen Mix aus europäischem Chic und slouchy California-Lifestyle. Wir sind casual cool und präsentieren „favourite essentials with highest quality, rock chic details and vintage feel.“ C.R.A.F.T.-Frauen bereisen die Welt und sind durch einen „effortless cool Style“ inspiriert. Alle Brands bieten das ultimative Lieblingsteil in Kombination zur C.R.A.F.T. Jeans. Upcoming-Designer wie Anine Bing aus Los Angeles und Rag & Bone aus New York sind ebenfalls bei uns vertreten. Aber auch Brands, die bekannt für das perfekte Basic in der besten Qualität sind – wie die wunderschönen T-Shirts von James Perse aus Los Angeles oder die super hippen Cashmere Pullover von 360Cashmere aus New York – findet man bei uns. Vintage-Feeling bieten wir an, indem wir kunstvolle, handbemalte Vintagetaschen aus den 60er Jahren, beispielsweise von Hermes, präsentieren. 

You are crafty if you like to dress classy with a touch of sexy, vintage and Rock & Roll. 

La Loupe C R A F T  Lech 6
Promotion

L.L. / Um die perfekte Jeanspflege ranken sich einige Mysterien. Manche schwören auf das Eisfach statt auf die Waschmaschine, für andere muss Denim nach dem Waschgang in den Trockner. Mit welcher Pflege hat man lange Freude an seiner Jeans?

M.K. / Denim mit hohem Stretchanteil verliert nach ein paar Waschgängen die Stabilität und Form. Unser Denim mit zwei Prozent Stretchanteil und dichter Ketteinstellung ist qualitativ top und entsprechend formstabiler.

C.R.A.F.T. Jeans sind wie eine Love Affair: Der Denim gibt nicht sofort nach – passt sich aber nach kurzer Zeit der Trägerin an und sitzt dann forever perfekt. Eine Love Affair möchte natürlich entsprechend gepflegt werden um ewig zu halten: 40 Grad-Wäsche und kein Trockner sind ideale Voraussetzungen für diese vielversprechende Liaison. 


„You are crafty if you like to dress classy with a touch of sexy, vintage and Rock & Roll.“ 

La Loupe C R A F T  Lech 1

L.L. / Skinny oder Flare, zerrissen oder ganz klassisch – welche Jeanstrends erwarten uns in der kommenden Saison?

M.K. / C.R.A.F.T. ist einer der Pioniere der perfekten Skinny Jeans und wird von Celebrities geliebt. Daher ist die klassische Skinny Jeans für uns immer wichtig. Wir folgen nicht blind jedem Trend. Unsere Jeans sind die Essential-Basics mit dem gewissen Extra, die den eigenen Stil betonen. Der Fokus unserer Arbeit liegt auf dem Fit und den hochwertigen Materialien mit cleveren, versteckten Details.

Eine Skinny Silhouette ist nach wie vor ein Must-Have, in hochwertigem dunkelblauen Denim und in einer authentischen Vintage-Waschung ist sie perfektes Basic für jeden Kleiderschrank. Skinny passt jeder Frau, die Kombination macht den Gesamtlook perfekt.

Die Flare Jeans ist seit letzter Saison wieder mehr im Gespräch, wird sich aber etwas schwer tun. Flare sieht toll an großen, schlanken Frauen aus. Normal gewachsene Frauen wirken in der Flare aber kleiner. Es ist also nicht einfach, eine Flare in Szene zu setzen...

Ich glaube persönlich, dass sich in den nächsten zwei Saisonen die klassische Straight Cut Jeans wieder etablieren kann. 

L.L. / Neben Ihrem Job als Designer gehen Sie auch der freien Kunst nach. Wie unterscheidet sich die Arbeitsweise von Fashiondesign und Malerei? Woher stammt Ihre Inspiration?

M.K. / In jungen Jahren bin ich über die Kunst in New York ins Design gerutscht. Seit einigen Jahren fokussiere ich mich wieder mehr auf die Kunst. Im Fashion-Design hast du einen festgelegten Rahmen und Regeln, die Kreativität ist also eingeschränkt und man stößt ziemlich schnell an Limits, die man nicht überschreiten kann.

Kunst bedeutet absolute Freiheit. No Limits, keine Regeln, kein Rahmen – und es ist eine unglaubliche Herausforderung. Die meisten Bilder entstehen durch einen Unfall und durch das Unerwartete. Du wartest auf eine Eingebung, irgendwie fängt deine Hand an, etwas zu machen aus dem zunehmend etwas entsteht. Selbst wenn ich für ein Bild eine Grundidee habe, entwickelt es sich schlussendlich in eine eigene Richtung. Das finale Werk unterscheidet sich oft sehr von der Anfangsidee, es transformiert sich selbst. Du weißt nicht, was das Bild während der Entwicklung macht – und es macht viele Sachen, die du dir gar nicht vorstellen konntest. Die Herausforderung ist dann zu entscheiden, welchen Teil des Unfalls du in eine für dich richtige Richtung abschließt. Der kreative Prozess in der Kunst ist ein Cocktail aus Instinkt, Begabung, Können, Kultur, kreativen Fieberschüben, Zweifel und Zufall.

Diesen Winter freue ich mich sehr, in der Tunnelgalerie des wunderbaren Hotel Burg Vital Resort in Oberlech ausstellen zu können. 

La Loupe C R A F T  Lech 2
Promotion

Wordrap mit Michael Kopplstätter

Meine Lieblingsjeans von C.R.A.F.T.: Stargrove.

Denim und ... Rock & Roll and everything ...  geht immer.

Auf diese drei Punkte muss man beim Jeanskauf achten: 1. Proportion und Position der Gesäßtaschen sind der Schlüssel zum Wow-Effekt (keine kleinen oder großen Gesäßtaschen), 2. kein Chichi, sondern Liebe zum Detail und zur Waschung und 3. die Jeans sollte wie eine Love Affair sein.

Mit oder ohne Elastan? Maximal 2 Prozent Stretchanteil, der Rest Cotton.

Ich besitze ... mehr als eine ... Jeans.

Mode bedeutet für mich: Mode ist nur ein Wort. Was zählt ist Stil. Es sind der Mut zu Eigenheit, der Charakter und die Persönlichkeit, die eine Person strahlen lassen. 

C.R.A.F.T.

2005 gründete Michael Kopplstätter gemeinsam mit seinen zwei Kollegen Gerhard Leitner und Gideon Day das Jeans-Label C.R.A.F.T. in Dornbirn. Der Anstoß: eine durchzechte Nacht auf einer Hütte im Bregenzerwald. Heute hat das Premium-Label Liebhaberinnen auf der ganzen Welt, die sich mit dem Rock & Roll von C.R.A.F.T. identifizieren können – darunter Kate Moss und die Töchter von Rocklegende Keith Richards. Im Lecher Store finden anspruchsvolle Kundinnen nicht nur exklusive Jeans, sondern auch angesagte Kollektionen von Marken wie Rag & Bone, 360Cashmere und Free People. 

La Loupe C R A F T  Lech 8