Love at first touch

Interview with Andrea Karg, founder and creative director at the brand Allude

Andrea Karg

Luxurious, desirable, confident, and surprising – that’s the central theme that’s present in all of Andrea Karg’s designs. More than 20 years ago she founded the cashmere brand Allude, a brand that amazes women worldwide. The sensual premium products are soft to the touch and there is a women’s, a men’s, a kids’ and a baby line as well as an exclusive range of home products. La Loupe had the privilege of asking Andrea Karg a few questions – the answers were rather warming. 

L.L. / Ms Karg, you are not just the creative director at Allude, you actually founded the business in 1993. Before that you were a junior lawyer. Where did your passion for cashmere and the decision to found your own fashion business come from?

A.K. / The passion for cashmere started in my youth, when I first felt just how supple and soft this wonderful material is: it was love at first touch – long before I owned a garment made from cashmere. Aside from that I created a variety of cuts and colours, thus giving cashmere an all new look and revolutionising cashmere fashion. 

La Loupe Allude Kitzbühel 1

L.L. / You freed cashmere from its outdated image and showed that this special fabric can be feminine and fashionable. What makes it the perfect fabric to you? What is so special about the fine natural fibre?

A.K. / Cashmere is such a wonderful and natural product. It flatters and protects at the same time. 

La Loupe Allude Kitzbühel 3

L.L. / The days are getting shorter, temperatures are dropping, and the first snow falls here in Kitzbühel – and of course cosy cashmere garments from Allude look more and more alluring. What trends can we expect in the fall/winter 2017 season?

A.K. / Geometric colour blocking on dresses and sweaters that remind us of paintings by the artist Mondrian, playful two-colour Jacquard patterns. Casual athleisure influences have become an integral part of the collection, two different product groups comprise loosely knit and oversize models; finest cashmere makes the look absolutely wearable.

The classic turtleneck gets reinforcements in the form of the mock sweater, perfectly combined with long cashmere dresses or sweaters. 

L.L. / From Munich into the world – Allude has been gathering fans all over the world for more than 20 years. Where do you take your inspiration and energy from? Is there a spot in Kitzbühel where you like to recharge your batteries?

A.K. / Cashmere and fashion are my passion. I am a very inquisitive person and I won’t take ‘can’t do’ for an answer. I follow my intuition, that intuition manifests itself in me in the course of the creative process and becomes a TREND in the collection. That’s where I get my drive and my vision from, in order to create a new collection made from a wonderful material each season, a collection that’s desirable, sensual, and luxurious. So fashion, and the creative process define my life – I absorb always and everywhere and then I think in shapes, colours, patterns…

I recharge my batteries when I get home, when I have no appointments, when I spend time with my family. And I love to spend time in Kitzbühel on the weekends. 

La Loupe Allude Kitzbühel 2

Andrea Karg's Wordrap

The Allude bestseller is … a modern boatneck sweater, casual fit.

The best way to take care of cashmere pieces: The washing machine’s wool programme, no warmer than 30°C.

Cashmere and … a smile … make every outfit perfect.

Oversize or slim fit? I love both!

Allude stands for … authentic and luxurious cashmere fashion.

My favourite piece in the current collection:  a ribbed cardigan.

Love at first touch

Interview mit Andrea Karg, Gründerin und Creative Director der Marke Allude

Andrea Karg

Luxuriös, begehrenswert, souverän und überraschend – dieser rote Faden zieht sich durch alle Entwürfe von Designerin Andrea Karg. Vor über 20 Jahren gründete sie das Cashmere Brand Allude, das Frauen auf der ganzen Welt begeistert. Die sinnlichen, streichelzarten Premium-Stücke gliedern sich in eine Damen- und Herrenkollektion, eine Kinder- und Babylinie sowie in ein exklusives Home-Sortiment. La Loupe durfte Andrea Karg ein paar Fragen stellen und bekam erwärmende Antworten.  

L.L. / Frau Karg, Sie sind nicht nur Creative Director bei Allude, sondern gründeten auch das Unternehmen 1993. Zuvor arbeiteten Sie als Rechtsreferendarin. Woher kommt Ihre Liebe zum Cashmere und die Entscheidung, ein eigenes Modeunternehmen zu gründen?

A.K. / Die Passion für Cashmere begann schon in meiner Jugend, als ich zum ersten Mal fühlte, wie anschmiegsam und weich dieses wundervolle Material ist: Es war love at first touch – lange bevor ich selbst ein Kleidungsstück aus Cashmere besaß. Ich gab Cashmere durch ungewöhnliche Farbvielfalt und Schnitten einen neuen, ungesehenen Look und revolutionierte dadurch die Cashmeremode.

La Loupe Allude Kitzbühel 1

L.L. / Sie befreiten Cashmere von seinem etwas angestaubten Image und zeigten, dass dieses besondere Material auch weiblich und modisch sein kann. Was macht es für Sie zum perfekten Textil? Was reizt sie an der edlen Naturfaser?

A.K. / Cashmere ist ein so wundervolles und natürliches Produkt. Es umschmeichelt und beschützt zugleich.

La Loupe Allude Kitzbühel 3

L.L. / Die Tage werden kürzer, die Temperaturen sinken und hier in Kitzbühel fällt der erste Schnee – dann locken die gemütlichen Cashmere-Stücke von Allude. Welche Trends erwarten uns im Herbst/Winter 2017?

A.K. / Geometrisches Color Blocking auf Kleidern und Pullovern, die an die Malereien des Künstlers Mondrian erinnern, verspielte zweifarbige Jacquard Pattern. Sportive Athleisure Einflüsse sind aus der Kollektion nicht mehr wegzudenken, gleich zwei verschiedene Produktgruppen umfassen locker gestrickte und oversized Modelle, umgesetzt in feinstes Cashmere machen sie diesen Look straßentauglich.

Der klassische Rollkragen bekommt noch Verstärkung durch den Stehkragen, fein eingesetzt bei langen Cashmerekleidern oder Mock Sweatern. 

L.L. / Von München in die Welt – seit über 20 Jahren begeistert Allude Liebhaber von Nah und Fern. Woher kommen Ihre Inspiration und Ihre Energie? Gibt es auch einen Ort in Kitzbühel, an dem Sie ganz besonders gerne Kraft tanken?

A.K. / Cashmere und Mode sind meine Leidenschaft. Ich bin von Grund aus neugierig und „geht nicht“ gibt es für mich nicht. Ich folge einem Bauchgefühl, das sich im Laufe des kreativen Prozesses in mir manifestiert und zu meinem TREND für die Kollektion wird. Daraus ziehe ich meinen Antrieb und meine Vision, um aus einem wundervollen Material jede Saison eine Kollektion zu entwerfen, die begehrenswert, lustvoll und luxuriös ist. Das heißt, Mode und das Schöpfen immer neuer Impulse bestimmen mein Leben – ich nehme immer und überall auf und denke dann in Formen, Farben, Maschen…

Kraft tanke ich, wenn ich nach Hause komme, keine Termine habe, Zeit mit meiner Familie verbringe. Sehr gerne auch in Kitzbühel über das Wochenende.

La Loupe Allude Kitzbühel 2

Andrea Karg im Wordrap

Der Bestseller von Allude ist ... ein moderner Boatneckpullover mit legerer Passform.

So pflegt man Cashmere am besten: in der Waschmaschine im Wollwaschgang, nicht heißer als 30°C.

Cashmere und ... ein Lächeln ... machen jedes Outfit perfekt.

Oversize oder körpernah? Ich liebe beides!

Allude steht für ... authentische und luxuriöse Cashmeremode.

Mein Lieblingsstück der aktuellen Kollektion: ein gerippter Cardigan.